Thank goodness for some REAL football

Posted: August 5, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,
My pre-season performer of the day Dolphins UFA WR Keenan Davis

My pre-season performer of the day Dolphins UFA WR Keenan Davis

Praise the lord, in fact praise all people in all religions you are supposed to priase as we are finally back to some real NFL action ON the field. Off the field it has been another period of arrests, season-ending injuries and roster moves, but the stuff that happens away from the gridiron can finally play second fiddle to the action on it. Thanks to my wife, mother in law and brother in law I am now the proud owner of a one year subscription to NFL Game Pass, so this morning, before work I was able to have a coffee and watch a delightful 30 minute condensed video package of the first pre-season NFL game of 2013. Sipping a cappucino that was not as hot as I wanted I viewed the Miami Dolphins take on the Dallas Cowboys in the Hall of Fame game. The jury is still out on the Dolphins new glow in the dark uniform, as it is with Miami’s second year quarterback Ryan Tannehill, who looked very average in his first quarter cameo. One player that did catch my eye was touchdown scorer rookie undrafted free agent wide receiver Keenan Davis. Davis was originally picked up by the Cleveland Browns as a free agent after the 2013 NFL Draft before being cut in late July. He was only signed by the Dolphins last week, but he made a good impression on me with his three catches (for 47 yards).   Another very interesting prospect playing in the game was another WR, this time a Dallas Cowboys player named Jared Green. Green had a great 4th quarter 32 yard catch to surprisingly lead all Dallas receivers by yards on the day. Nothing remarkable to report, but Jared is the son of Hall of Fame enshrinee Darrell Green, the former Washington Redskins cornerback. It does not rest easily for me as a Redskins fan to see Green wearing a silver helmet with a star on it, but if he manages to stay on the team beyond the Pre-Season I will be pleased as punch for him. Green let me interview him last season when he was picked up by the Carolina Panthers, so I am very happy he has resurfaced with another opportunity to follow in his father’s footsteps. As I swigged down my coffee it struck me that I must not take for granted that I can sit in the basement of a well known hot drinks establishment in the middle of England watching extensive highlights of the first pre-season game of the season. If we go back 20 years there was no way of finding out NFL pre-season scored without waiting a week for First Down magazine to publish results when it was put on news stands on a Thursday morning. We go back ten years and whilst there was decent internet coverage, we did not have smart phones with the ability to stream NFL games wirelessly on an HD screen no bigger than a pack of playing cards. Now I can watch the game live, watch the full game the next day, watch highlights or even watch the game shot in the way that real NFL coaches use to evaluate talent. Face it NFL fans are spolit for choice. Before you say it no this post is not sponsored by NFL Game Pass, I figure I am just in the honeymoon period of my new online relationship with the NFL, plus we are finally back to some real football, and nothing apart from spending time with my wife and daughter makes me happier.

Comments
  1. I’ve been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site. Reading this info So i’m glad
    to exhibit that I’ve a very just right uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I so much surely will make sure to do not forget this site and give it a glance on a constant basis.

Leave a Reply

