The reason I wont be at Wembley on Sunday

I haven’t missed an NFL game at Wembley Stadium since 1987 (Los Angeles Rams v Denver Broncos) until tomorrow.

Whilst it has been painful to think that a real NFL regular season game is taking place about two hours drive from my doorstep tomorrow I do have a legitimate reason for not attending the Tampa Bay Buccaneers hosting the Chicago Bears in England – the birth of our first child Gabriella Ruby Vos.

Gabriella is just over two weeks old, but in terms of due date she arrived almost two weeks early so there was never a chance I was even going to have bought a ticked to the 2011 NFL International game.

For the first time since 2007 I will be watching the two NFL teams that have made it over to this side of the pond from the warmth of our living room, wearing shorts and a t-shirt.

I love the game atmosphere and the fact I am witnessing a game that actually counts, but I never loved the weather in late October – its usually raining at Wembley and it is normally quite nippy.

Watching the game at home will be a new experience – and a much cosier one.

I am gutted that I wont get to see Devin Hester electrify Wembley with his dazzling kickoff and punt return skills, gutted I wont see Julius Peppers attacking Buccs offensive tackles with his super-human wingspan, and gutted I wont see the Bald warrior Brian Urlacher (makes me sound like a Bears fan!).

I hope Tampa come back with winning on their mind as they were pretty awful when they last came over and got embarrassed by Tom Brady and the New England Patriots.

My predictions for the game are as follows:

  • Score – Buccs 20-17 Bears
  • Game MVP Earnest Graham the unsung Buccs RB who is the perfect workhorse do-it-all backup and a man who deserves more love.
To all the fans from England, Great Britain, Europe and those coming from the Stars and Stripes I would like to wish you all a great day out in London, which I hope stays dry and sunny.
Raise a glass of ripoff Wembley beer from me and have a great day.
Ill be back in 2012 for the 6th annual NFL International Game – maybe NFL people will even bring the game forward so its a bit warmer – Roger why can’t you do September in London sir?

Ill miss putting on my Art Monk shirt and seeing the Wembley arches.

Comments
  1. Rich Grove says:

    Having finally got my Art Monk shirt I will carry on your tradition for you. Been at every game but this will be the first year I am pushing my fiancee in a wheelchair as she recovers form a particularly bad MS attack a few weeks ago.
    Roll on the rip off beer and hopefully your scoreline is correct as for an inexplicable reason I don’t like the Bears..

  2. voodoovos says:

    Rich I hope you and your fiance have a fantastic day – maybe if you take some pics you can send me some that I can add to the NFLfaninEngland blog?

  3. Rich Grove says:

    More than happy to. Natasha (the better half) is far better at photography so I will get her to send them through to you (probably tomorrow considering the time we will get in tonight). πŸ™‚

    • voodoovos says:

      That will be great Rich and Natasha – I look forward to promoting them on the blog. i hope you get some great game pics and get to meet a few legends. I shoot Tim Tebow’s hand last year and he signed my Redskins hat.

Leave a Reply

