Gerhart will sure look good in purple

I have been playing a fantasy NFL game called Action PC Football for about five years now so I have taken part in a whole heap of drafts.

Nothing like what I did last weekend though.

In one of my leagues, the UFL, the 2010 rookie player draft rounds 1 to 3 took place BEFORE the real NFL draft.

I had 4 picks and many many team needs. Here are the players I drafted and when I drafted them (and their real selection in brackets).

Pick #3 – Sam Bradford, QB, Oklahoma (real pick #1 to St Louis Rams)

Pick #41 – Toby Gerhart, RB, Stanford (real pick #51 to Minnesota Vikings)

Pick #59 – Jordan Shipley, WR, Texas (real pick #84 to Cincinnati Bengals)

Pick #62 – Brandon Ghee, CB, Wake Forest (real pick #96 to Cincinnati Bengals)

I knew Bradford would go #1 in NFL draft and so I was fortunate to get him at #3 in the UFL. He was available after DT monsters Suh and McCoy went #1 and #2.

Gerhart I was expecting to go to the Broncos.  I am optimistic he will have a positive impact on the Vikings. Firstly the purple people eaters have no solid RB2, and Gerhard is gonna make teams wince in pain when he takes the field. Did I get best value for him where I selected him? Maybe not, but the guy was Heisman Trophy runner up earlier in the year.

As for Shipley and Ghee to both go to the Bengals in the third round (way below where I had picked them) it was abit of a surprise. Shipley has landed on a team that can utilise him as a returner and a slot receiver, and Ghee can work himself into the nickle-back role if he has a great training camp.

Above all drafting before the real draft is a risky business, but it sure makes you feel what its like to be ‘on the clock’.

Anyone got any thoughts on Bradford, Gerhart, Shipley or Ghee?

Leave a Reply

