Yep here I am with the Miami U awarded real 1986 Heisman Trophy

Yep here I am with the Miami U awarded real 1986 Heisman

The old saying goes that good things come to those who wait.Well it is true as my wife and I had to wait outside the Univeristy of Miami’s Sports Hall of Fame in their Coral Gables campus for over an hour as the Florida sun beat down on our pasty white skin.
Peering in the window I could see two of the NCAA Division 1 Crystal Footballs that the ‘U’ football team won as national college champions.
I could also see what looked like one of those cheerleader cones that they shout down to rally the troops in the fourth quarter.
Thankfully after two visits to the University of Miami athletics office next door to the Hall of Fame someone did manage to find a key, and then beat this – they let my wife and I into the Hall of Fame and just left us in there alone.
Now there is trust but this was downright amazing – I was left with two Championship crystal footballs and memorobilia that was enough to make a grown man cry with joy.
The price to get in – $0.00. I was in shock that the ‘U’ let you into this absolute treasure trove of NCAA football and NFL football past and present for nothing, it is a mindlblowing cavalcade of history and modern achievement and a place I did not want to leave.
This helmet was signed by all 5 Miami National Champion quarterbacks

This helmet was signed by all 5 Miami National Champion quarterbacks

One  of the most fun objects inside the Hall of Fame was some 1940s NFL contracts.
No million dollar signing bonuses – just one page of legal jargon and a couple of signatures.
Seeing this sort of history is priceless and awe inspiring.
A real NFL contract from 1948 - Show me the moneeeeey

A real NFL contract from 1940 - Show me the moneeeeey

There were also helmets of all shapes and sizes including a 1940s leather NFL one.
Just imagine getting tackled 70 years ago – boy it must have hurt.
Turn it upside down and it could be a retro handbag

Turn it upside down and it could be a retro handbag

Ill leave you with a National Championship trophy.
I hope you enjoy these pictures as much as I enjoyed taking them.
You become the best College team and you win this sexy bit of glass

You become the best College team and you win this sexy bit of glass

Leave a Reply

