My new hobby – NFL Paparazzi Twittering – and my new best mate Mr Adam Schefter

Posted: July 9, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

A few months ago I was introduced to the rather bizarre world of Twitter. Twittering it seems is the new My Space, Bebo and Facebook all stripped down and made simple.

Everyone is now twittering, from Elizabeth Taylor snubbing Michael Jackson’s funeral on Twitter to Chad ‘mad as a box of frogs’ OchoCinco announcing that he wants to Twitter during an NFL game. Thinking about it what are the odds on OchoCinco twittering in the end-zone in the 2009 season. I wouldn’t give more than about 3-1 odds.

To tweet or not to tweet that is the question? The answer I gave is that I have started twittering, and I now have great fun wading through people’s followers that are real NFL players or people associated with the NFL.

Up until yesterday I had sent around 20 or so direct messages to NFL players, and apart from Chris Cooley’s twitter manager saying ‘go to Chris’s shop’  to BUY an autograph, I had not had any replies.

Then last night my white knight of the realm came thundering through the forest and from across the pond I had an NFL associated response. The transcript is below, with a screen grab showing the response….

White@Adam_Schefter Adam what was it like when you were drafted #1 overall in the smug faced reporter draft of 2000? Did you expect an early call (sent about 14 hours ago)

My new best mate - the perfectly groomed Adam Schefter

My new best mate - the perfectly groomed Adam Schefter

My first famous person direct message on Twitter has come from none other than NFL Network reporter and NFL.com blog writer Adam Schefter.

For some reason I thought of Schefter as a cheshire cat like grin machine, but now as he responded to me directly he has become my new best friend.

I am now attempting to conduct an email interview with Mr Schefter for my blog.

Ill keep you all updated.

Comments
  1. Michael says:

    I disagree with the expletivies above it was a good interview and you have an excellent blog. Keep up the good work!

  2. Twitter rocks. I use it and find it to be great.

Leave a Reply

