Rivers is my first fantasy draft pick in the BBFL

Rivers is my first fantasy draft pick in the BBFL

For anyone who owns a fantasy NFL team that enables you to draft NFL rookies you will already know that it is a lottery, just like it is for real NFL owners.

Everyone thinks they are a genius GM, and with the added spice of getting a free ‘try before you buy’ sneak preview of NFL rookies in the NFL pre-season it is truly a case of wandering round the world’s biggest candy store with deep pockets full of loose change.

In my league the BBFL (www.freewebs.com/britballfootball) we are in the closing stages of a five round rookie draft, selecting at total of 100 NFL rookies who were drafted for real in the 2008 NFL Draft.

There are 20 teams, so each team starts a season with 5 picks each, but following furious trading and in some cases daylight robbing, we get to rookie draft week with picks locked and unable to be traded during the BBFL rookie draft. We also have a policy of the rookies not playing for a year, so those 2008 rookies drafted in the NFL will play in the 2009 BBFL season.

So after all the explanation where have I decided to go with the picks I have got ? Cue the screams of ‘you did whaaat?’ ‘you passed on whooo?’ ‘you drafted that clown?’

My 1st pick – Overall #8 in Rd One – Keith Rivers, LB, USC Trojans (drafted by #9 Bengals in NFL)

My 2nd pick – Overall #19 in Rd One – Felix Jones, RB, Arkansas Razorbacks (drafted # 22 by Cowboys NFL)

My 3rd pick – Overall # 59 in Rd 3 – Jason Jones, DT, Eastern Michigan Eagles (drafted # 54 by Titans in NFL)

My 4th pick – Overall #81 in Rd 5 – Donnie Avery, WR, Houston Cougars (drafted # 33 by Rams in NFL)

My 5th pick – Overall #88 in Rd 5 – Brian Brohm, QB, Louisville Cardinals (drafted # 56 by Packers in NFL)

My 6th pick – Overall #94 in Rd 5 – Terrell Thomas, CB, USC Trojans (drafted # 63 by Giants in NFL)

My 7th pick – Overall #99 in Rd 5 – Anthony Collins, OT, Kansas Jayhawks (drafted # 112 by Bengals in NFL)

Well here is my justification behind the picks !

I chose Rivers over the available Jerod Mayo because I think that Rivers will become a tackling machine and make an immediate impact as a Bengal, also coming from USC he will be used to the standards demanded by an NFL team.

As a Redskins fan I learnt many moons ago that cutting your nose of to spite your face is not a good NFL fantasy tactic, so I went for a Cowboy in the form of Fexix Jones. Firstly my league was seeing a run of running backs, secondly Jones has not been worn down at college because he was the support act to #4 overall pick Darren McFadden, thirdly Jones has an insane 7.6 yards a carry college career average, andfinally Jones will support Marion Barber III who will pound teams into submission, leaving Jones to become what I hope will be the Maurice Jones-Drew of 2008.

Grabbing Jones was what I would call a disciplined pick – there were a lot more sexy players out there including some wideouts that had slipped from round 2 in the NFL – I however needed a good young DT. Jones can play DT or DE and has already impressed King Headstomper Albert Haynesworth.

Avery for some bizarre reason slipped an incredible 48 places from where he was picked in the NFL draft for real, so I had to triple check my eyes were not decieving me. Yes indeed he is small, but he is already showing some of his talent after grabbing 5 balls for 65 yards in his first NFL pre-season game.

Again Brohm slipped down the BBFL draft ladder. With Aaron Rogers taking the helm at Green Bay, Brohm could be one ugly tackle from taking to the frozen tundra of Lambeau Field in his rookie season. Brohm was projected by many to be a first round pick, but being drafted in the second gives him a bit more breathing room to develop. I was chuffed to get Brohm, and despite his less than stellar pre-season outings I feel Brohm can be a winner at the next level.

Terell Thomas is going to potentially be the nickel back for the world champion Giants, and is another Trojan star, yet again he was available so I snagged him. He could get 30-40 tackles and maybe even an interception or two.

As for Collins, I don’t feel good if I dont get an offensive lineman prospect in a draft, and the Bengals need all the help they can get. Collins is highly regarded and can make an impact in 2008. I am a big fan of Andrew Whitworth, so I hope Collins learns from him, as he could be the eventual replacement for the legendary Willie Andrews.

Anyone please give me your opinion on the draft – any compliments ? Criticisms? let me know…….

Comments
  1. […] the rest here: FANTASY DIARY enty #3 – Three rounds in and three picks down arkansas, bengals, darren-mcfadden, exclusive-jacob, felix-jones, jason-jones, jerod-mayo, jones, […]

  2. Dawna says:

    I actually blog also and I’m composing something alike to this specific article, “FANTASY DIARY enty #3 – Three rounds in and three picks
    down | THE definitive opinion of the NFL from the other side
    of the pond”. Would you care if perhaps I reallyuse a number of of your tips?
    Thanks for the post -Dacia

Leave a Reply

