I love Devin Hester (PS – just don’t tell my wife)

Posted: July 28, 2008 in NFL, NFL Fantasy
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
He's Electric Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeee's gone Touchdown Hester

He's Electric Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeee's gone Touchdown Hester

I have a confession to make to you all – I love Devin Hester.

There I said it, I feel cleansed. I’m not a Chicago Bears fan, and I dont even support the Miami Hurricanes (his college team) I just love watching Hester give NFL special teams coordinators the heebie -jeebies as they decide to squib kick or grow a set of balls and just kick directly to him.

I am therefore relieved that Hester has signed a 4-year contract extension today – Well done Mr H. I think for Hester to hold out would have been an incredible loss to the Bears and a loss to the NFL as a whole.

Watching Hester’s electrifying opening kickoff go all the way to the house in Superbowl XLI made me spit out a mouthful of popcorn and peanut M&Ms and make general whooping noises.

Having Hester on one of my 55 man roster fantasy teams in the AMFL (Art Monk Football League) is like knowing you can go into a sweet shop every week for 16 weeks and six times pulling out a Wonka bar with a winning ticket. Even though I lost my fantasy game this week 35-38 Hester returned a punt for a touchdown and caught an 18 yard pass for another score.

In fact in 12 games in the AMFL Hester has scored 2 punt return tds 2 kick return tds and his stats are 45 kick returns for 1072 yards (23.8 yards a return) and only 19 punt returns – but a whopping 14.6 yards a return (278 yards), he also has 4 catches for 66 yards and a score.

Back to reality – and the REAL Hester – he is even scarier. With an insane 11 return touchdowns in just two seasons (plus two receiving tds) Devin is without doubt the most exciting athlete in the NFL – yes more exciting than Tom Brady, Brett ‘who cares if he comes back’ Favre, and even the likes of fellow hot returners like Leon Washington and Joshua Cribbs.

I’m gonna be bold and predict Hester gets 4 combined return touchdowns and 5 to 8 catching touchdowns. I know that the Bears are planning to use Hester as a quality wideout, but lets hope they do not cut of their nose to spite their face by reducing Hester’s return time.

I reckon Hester can get 45-55 catches for about 600-700 yards, but for god’s sake Lovie Smith don’t be a madman and take Hester off return duties.

So NFLFANINENGLAND blog readers ….how many return touchdowns (combined kick and punt return) do YOU think that Hester will get in 2008 season?

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    One million

  2. voodoovos says:

    EDITORS NOTE

    I predicted back in July 08 Hester would get 45-55 catches for 600-700 yards

    He got 51 – 665 – Not bad for accuracy eh !

Leave a Reply

